Diving and such - Reisverslag uit Albufeira, Portugal van Thomas Groenendaal - WaarBenJij.nu Diving and such - Reisverslag uit Albufeira, Portugal van Thomas Groenendaal - WaarBenJij.nu

Diving and such

Door: Thomas Groenendaal

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Thomas

20 Mei 2016 | Portugal, Albufeira

Ok, so here I finally am live with my blog.

I have been away now for about two weeks and I really don't know where to start. I will just start at the beginning I guess.

The fun already started in the plane. I was sitting window seat and the seat next to me was free and the aisle seat was occupied by a Dutch woman. We started chatting and she told she had a holiday house in Portugal which she visit now and then. So I told what my plans where and that I needed a train to my hostel. Lucky for me she hired a car and I could run along with her. Saved me about 1,5h to be stuck in public transport ( which I hate obviously).

I have to be honest, the weather the first week was completely sh#t. Right now it's a comfy 25 to 30 degrees. Ok but that's now. After I settled the night in the hostel I went to the diving shop to get my study book for my Advanced Course for diving. I started talking with them and after two hours they offered me a course for Dive Master. Which basically is the entry level as a professional diver. So I can be an instructor all over the world. All the dives and course is covered by them so I don't get wages. I do get commission though which is a common thing here.

I'm talking too much, this is just day 2. Ok, so in the hostel I met lots of great people the first week. As you might have seen on FB I have celebrated my b-day with 7 others from the hostel. Which was a crazy night, I mean I was fucked up until 18h the next day...

On the 10th of May I rented a bad ass Ford Focus Estate for 6 days for just 200 Euro's. The roads here are amazing and I have done Faro to Sagres all the way up to Evora (which is the same height as Lisbon). I have slept in the car, in a mini-hostel on a camp-site and 4 star hotels. So the first time in my life I think I took hitch-hikers with me was Wednesday. I was caught in a classic hippy trick(god-damn hippies). The girl wanted a ride and then came the guy out of the bushes. The smelled like HELL. I took them 15 minutes and then kicked them out at some beach. Ok byee.

Then I got a call from a guy I met in the hostel who was looking for an apartment to stay since he will be working as a bar keeper for a while. Took us a whole day going from estate agent to estate agent. We wanted to give up but in the end we have a sweet, sweet house. So if someone wants to come over for the weekend, let me know.

And the diving is great, a bit cold but I wear a full and short wetsuit so I'm nice and comfy. And I get to meet lots of girls. Already went on a couple of dates. Even a Tinder one right around the corner of my house.

Oh guys it's just too much to mention all. The weather is lovely. I got a mountain bike from the guys from the dive shop to borrow. I'm already a local at the hostel and I go there everyday after work for a coffee or a beer. I have got commission from them for sending people from the diving over to them for a place to stay.

I am really relaxed here. My skin is much better with the sun and the ocean. I can still be a little 'stresskip' but that's just who I am. A have a lot to learn from the diving. Now it's not just me I have to take care of but also our clients.

And the driving here, it's epic. Since you know I like rally driving, well, that's what I have been doing for the week with my Focus. Been driving 1500 km or something in just these days. Following all the coasts and hitting those curbs in the corners.

So I'll be here until the 30th of June. In July I will be back for my friend Leo and his soon to be wife Kim. Then in August I'll return for another six weeks and I will be a qualified Dive Master by then. So you will have to call me Master Thomas by then.

Did I mention the fish? Not the ones in the ocean but on land. The food is very very good here. I have been treating myself well these first two weeks eating out every day. But now I have a bit more steady situation but there is a Lidl and Aldi near by.

Of course I miss you all now and then. But I'm having a great time here. To be honest, working in the dive shop is hard work. Carry a lot of stuff all around. Pay attention to my instructors, help the divers (I take care of the girls). But it's a great experience so far.

See you all soon!

Kusje,
Thomas

  • 21 Mei 2016 - 11:02

    Mart:

    Thoompje! (Soon to be Master Thoompje)

    Seems like you have a great time! Enjoy diving in/with the girls!
    Hate to say it but it's nice to hear/read from you.

    Enjoy!

    Grtz,

    Mart

  • 02 Juni 2016 - 18:46

    Leo:

    Macho BV.com

    Klinkt goed THomas! Beter ben je op tijd terug voor de bruiloft :) Doe je rustig met de dames? ;)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Portugal, Albufeira

Thomas

Actief sinds 16 Aug. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 1517
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19415

Voorgaande reizen:

30 April 2016 - 31 December 2016

Travel the world and more

18 November 2008 - 18 Juni 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: